My Shadow by Joni Caggiano

An abstract image of a young woman kneeling with her head lowered and energy vibes are radiating from her
Image Source: Canva

tenderly touch me for I was once raw

singing floral notes softly from a flush sky

never leaving your shadow, you are my shelter

my guardian, my shield who wisely can hum away pain

bodies entwine like veins heating us up

soft the blanket you lay upon my tender soul

weaving a home of soft curly willow’s tangled limbs

sacredness fills my heart as birds stay near, singing hymns

-JONI CAGGIANO

Joni’s blog is Rum and Robots, where she has published poetry, photography, and short stories. Take a look at Joni’s work in Spillwords Press NYC, Vita Brevis Press, The Finest Example, The Tiny Seed Literary Journal, I Write Her – The Short of it, and MasticadoresUSA. Joni’s work was included in the following anthologies: The Sound of Brilliance (The Short of It Publishing, Volume 1 2020), Inner Eye (Poets Choice, 2021), and It’s Not Easy (Poets Choice 2021). Her blog is an effort to give back – she is a surviving Adult Child of Alcoholics. Joni is a retired nurse and paralegal.

You can also read her writing on Instagram @jonicaggiano and Twitter @theinnerchild1.

We would love to read your work. Interested? Please READ our SUBMISSION GUIDELINES.

-MASTICADORESINDIA

26 thoughts on “My Shadow by Joni Caggiano

  1. Joni’s poetry delivers a message of love, hope, passion, and the reassurance that darkness can never remain. It’s the heart and soul that triumph over hardships, the reasons for healing can be so many. Solace can be found when we have the hope and desire to see it. I love the passionate sparks igniting the minds and hearts of the readers. We want to feel what this poetess has to reveal.
    Congratulations Joni!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. So beautifully written, and absolutely healing…
    love these lines
    ” tenderly touch me for I was once raw

    singing floral notes softly from a flush sky”
    Transporting, your words carried me to safety and to a better place. Hugs Joni.. you have such an amazing talent, for doing that XXX

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Dearest Karima thank you for these beautiful words of yours, they are appreciated more than you know. I am so grateful that you feel carried away when reading me, I feel the same about reading you my friend. Blessings and love, Joni

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Breathtaking poem, thank you Joni for your thoughts shared through your poems. It warms my heart & I feel honored to read your poems, & the comments from your lovely writing community. Love you much

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much Janette my dear friend. You have been along this ride with me from day one, offering your support and love. You are a cherished friend and I can’t wait to give you a great big hug when we get to Seattle. I appreciate your encouragement from the very beginning so much. Bless you sweet heart, love you so much! See you soon. xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you so much for your kindness. I so appreciate your visiting and writing such a beautiful comment on my post. I am delighted you enjoyed the journey and yes it is a spiritual piece indeed. Blessings and big hugs and love, Joni

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Balm. Beautiful, healing balm. An ode to A MOST Beautiful, Sacred, LOVING Being. Sighing in my entire body. LOVE this soooo very much!!! Thank You, dear Joni…..I feel the same way. And Thank Terveen, for publishing! Cheers!!! 🤗❤️🙏🏼

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Oh sweet Katydid you are so sweet. I am so glad you enjoyed this piece, it is written with lots of joy and love for all my blessings. We both have a lot in common. Thank you so much sweetie and know I am sending you bunches of hugs, love and appreciation xoxoxoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment