Forest of Light by Joni Caggiano

The night scene of a forest with stars in the sky and dots of light on the forest floor and river
Image Source: Canva

speak to me thru languages of noble trees 

seducing flesh softly with feather fingers

vast sorrows seen with linking filters of blue

sealing eyes, stirring inducing, aching for you

birds move with beating hearts, as we rise

a doe bends a seedling for a taste of new

tears drop on silk pillowcase releasing sigh

turtle doves soar, their music sailing on by

-JONI CAGGIANO

Joni’s blog is Rum and Robots, where she has published poetry, photography, and short stories. Take a look at Joni’s work in Spillwords Press NYC, Vita Brevis Press, The Finest Example, The Tiny Seed Literary Journal, I Write Her – The Short of it, and MasticadoresUSA. Joni’s work was included in the following anthologies: The Sound of Brilliance (The Short of It Publishing, Volume 1 2020), Inner Eye (Poets Choice, 2021), and It’s Not Easy (Poets Choice 2021). Her blog is an effort to give back – she is a surviving Adult Child of Alcoholics. Joni is a retired nurse and paralegal.

You can also read her writing on Instagram @jonicaggiano and Twitter @theinnerchild1.

We would love to read your work. Interested? Please READ our SUBMISSION GUIDELINES.

-MASTICADORESINDIA

27 thoughts on “Forest of Light by Joni Caggiano

  1. Joni’s poetic piece imbibes the allure of nature and the raw passion of lovers. The way she entwines the two is effortless and the brilliance of both shine through to the eyes of the readers. There’s a blissful comfort to be found in the arms of one’s lover and the enchanting feeling of being wanted and loved is like no other. Nature takes its course and the rhythm of life drifts forward.
    Congratulations Joni!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Even before reading Terveen’s beautiful comment, I was thinking of your talent to combine Nature and sensual love.The woods hold a special place for you, Joni, in you life. I know this because I have read many of your poems, starting from your memories as a child and all the way through, Nature, especially forests, hold a magical and indelible place in your heart. You met the fairies in the woods, you met your lovers over the years there too. The raw vital feeling of earth and abundance, sparks your own passionate nature and your memories. This latest poem, is a beautiful example of all of this:) Much love to you Joni, Karima 🤗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much dearest Karima for both reading and your very lovely comment. You know me so well. Terveen always reads all her writers so well. You are right about nature holding a very special place in my heart. It was my place to escape from the home life that frightened me and now I just appreciate all things in nature. It does indeed spark my feelings about so many things and I write about them. You could say that nature and God are my muses. God is in just about everything I write because I don’t think I would be here today with out His watching after me when I was a child. Sending you my love, Joni

      Liked by 2 people

    1. My sweet friend, thank you for your gracious comment. I do write about trees a lot and nature just talks to me. I appreciate you reading me here so much. Blessings to you and your beautiful family. Love Joni

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment