Thus the Evening’s Stillness Deepens by Michael L. Utley

An abstract image of the moon and a Gramaphone with petunias and a grasshopper at the piano and water beneath it all
Image Source: Canva Pro

I don’t want to break the peaceful

stillness of this winter evening

as the gloaming deepens and the

shadows freeze upon the hills

I don’t want to leave my footprints

on the pristine frozen fields

where the haggard cornstalks gather

contemplating harvests past

I don’t want to burden forests

slumbering in hiemal stasis

dreaming of the coming springtime

and the warmth of summer sun

so I’ll tell the moon my secrets

shed my tears in silent prayers

rest my head on silver shoulders

close my eyes and bear my soul

there’s so much to say this evening

as I wait in darkling meadow

for the object of my fondness

as she peeks between the trees

she has never kept me waiting

she has never left me wanting

she has never sent me reeling

in the throes of winter’s woes

I can hear her humming softly

as the stars begin to sing in

perfect cosmic harmony an

airy astral aria

gathering her scarf and mantle

she ascends as alpenglow paints

roseate blush on pale cheekbones

crimson tincture on her lips

as she rises I stand helpless

in this chilly empty clearing

I am powerless against her

I surrender to her glow

there’s a kindness in her visage

as she turns her gaze upon me

there’s compassion as she wraps me

in her shimmering embrace

thus the evening’s stillness deepens

thus the frozen fields glimmer

thus the forests drift in slumber

thus my damaged soul renewed

-MICHAEL L. UTLEY

Mike is a deaf writer/photographer who lives in rural southwest Colorado, USA.  His love of nature shines through his poetry and photography, both of which he uses to make sense of his world.

Please visit Silent Pariah to read and view more of his wonderful work.

We would love to read your work. Interested? Please READ our SUBMISSION GUIDELINES.

-MASTICADORESINDIA

37 thoughts on “Thus the Evening’s Stillness Deepens by Michael L. Utley

  1. Michael’s ode to the moon could make any fair maiden jealous. How many eyes have glanced at the night sky, taking in the mystique of this radiant ball of light. When all appears lost, no hope in sight, one glance at this beauty could entrance the most agitated minds. If you listen with your heart, your soul will hear the music.
    Congratulations Michael!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Terveen. The moon certainly is a balm for the soul, and I’m unabashedly a moon lover. There’s something magical and very personal about the moon, and I hope I was able to articulate my adoration for that exquisite nighttime farmer. As always, many thanks for the opportunity to share my poetry here. Much appreciated.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mike, this is such an amazingly beautiful piece. I feel like I am alongside you, seeing what you are seeing. Your work is just so stunning. I think it is safe to say you are indeed a romantic man. Congratulations, this is something you have created that paints such beauty. I love the way you talked of nature’s sounds; lovely! Have a fantastic weekend. Joni

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Kindest thanks, Joni. I used to consider myself a rather romantic fellow, but now, after all these years alone, I fancy myself more of a curmudgeonly old coot (but a nice curmudgeonly old coot). 😀. I think my deafness comes into play a lot in my poetry in the sense that I sometimes find myself focusing on sounds even though I’m deaf. Memories are curiously strong things, and I recall sounds I can no longer hear. It allows me to be whole once again when I write. Thanks for your kindness as always, Joni. I appreciate it.

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Alpenglow is indeed fascinating to behold. For a few years, I was involved in nature photography and learned about it then. The magic-hour lighting on mountain peaks is exquisitely beautiful. 🙂

      Like

    1. “Almost a sigh of a poem…”. This is such a beautiful description, Shobana. I’m truly humbled and pleased this one spoke (or sighed) to you. 🙂. Your support means so much to me, my friend. Kindest thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, David. This is especially meaningful to me and I appreciate it so much. I know the frustration of trying to navigate longer poetry and becoming lost or simply bored. I’m delighted to know this poem held your attention until the end. Your support is priceless, my friend! Thank you for being an inspiration to me. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So elegant, Mike. I’m continually blown away by your work. The deep emotion that imbues your poetry, so evident here, leaves me breathless. You are a marvel, my friend. Thanks to Terveen for continuing to share your words. She recognizes a gem when she sees one.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Many thanks, my friend, for such a lovely comment. I really don’t know any other way to write. There’s a big part of me that demands I pour out my heart and soul into everything I write in order for it to have meaning. I won’t lie–it’s exhausting much of the time and leaves me feeling emotionally drained, but at the same time, I’m able to recognize myself in everything I write. I think that’s the true essence of writing, and art in general. I’m so humbled and honored that my poetry connects with you, and I thank you for being such an inspiration to me. And yes, I’m so grateful to Terveen for believing in me. She allowed me to achieve a lifetime’s dream by publishing my work and I’ll be forever grateful to her for that. Thanks again, Diana, for your kind support. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I can tell/feel how personal and emotional your poetry is to you, Mike. That comes through with crystal clarity, and it’s what makes your poetry so powerful. The ability to invite others into your world is a gift and you do it without fail. ❤

        Liked by 2 people

  4. This poem is just exquisitely beautiful, Mike. It had me captured from beginning to end. You really are a brilliant and talented writer and poet, Mike. I’m glad that we met and that I have the privilege to know you and your work. Take care, and have a great week ahead 💙.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You’re so kind, Ellie. Thank you for such a wonderful comment . I’m happy to know this poem pleased you. I, too, consider it an honor to have met you. Your writing is beautiful and deeply personal and so emotional. Truly straight from your heart. I shall continue reading your amazing work and wish you continued success with your writing. I appreciate your support so much. Thank you for reading my poetry. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  5. What a beautiful poem Mike and your imagery is exquisite as the frost and chill takes the reader with you to the flirting with the moon and beauty ” you truly have a gift that speaks directly to the heart and soul of your audience. It is exquisite! !❣️

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Many thanks, dear friend. You always have a way of making me smile. I love your positivity and it always shines through in your wonderful reviews. I appreciate you and all you do to elevate and support all those who come into your orbit. Thanks so much for your kindness, Cindy. Much appreciated. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment