“For The Last Time Last Night” by John RC Potter

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com
I cried for you for the last time last night,
there is no feeling left when one’s lost the fight.
You have won the battle,
but you just lost the war.
You will forage on the ground
when in the sky you could soar.
I have no words left, yet my voice has never been louder.
The deepest wounds one has are not made by gunpowder.
You asked me to leave you then
but a part of me stayed with you.
Can a drowning man rescue himself
from the depths of eyes of such blue?
I lied to you for the last time when I said last night,
my love was gone for it rose with the morning light.

This poem is from an unpublished manuscript, “Walking in the Shadow of Someone’s Soul.” The majority of the 90 + poems in the manuscript have been published previously. This poem is original and unpublished until now.

Copyright © 2024 John RC Potter
All Rights Reserved

One thought on ““For The Last Time Last Night” by John RC Potter

  1. It’s, never, easy to, admit to ourselves, that, the love we’re in isn’t good for us, and, even harder to break up, because of all the feelings and, attachments that are still, connecting us to that certain someone, but we know, that, love is, slowly, drained dry, and, something inside us, telling us, it’s time to, head for that, exit!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment